top of page

Dealing with allergies when it comes to body jewelry

I've been chronically ill my entire life, but one thing that constantly keeps changing is the amount of allergies my body develops. It started out as a small amount, but now I have too many to count. This is obviously very tricky and frustrating when it comes to body jewelry for my body modifications. I'm allergic to all wood, most stone, some types of glass, and poorly made metal. All of my allergies limit what I can use with my body modifications, and it's been severely frustrating. Something I've learned the hard way, is just to try out different jewelry and hope for the best. 🤞🏻 I can't really seem to do anything else, because my allergies are constantly changing. All that I can say, is don't give up. When I've experienced allergies it tends to mess up my body modifications so severely that it affects my progress with stretching. Most of the time I will have to drastically downsize and then wait weeks just for them to heal and go back up to where they were. It's a crummy process, but body mods are never easy.


Body jewelry is already expensive, especially when you get to the larger sizes like myself. Most of the time I need to get things custom made, and even then I have to account my allergies. Sometimes that means spending a lot on jewelry, shipping, and so forth; only to realize that you can't use them. It's a hit or miss thing, and I can't sit here and tell you how much I've spent throughout my body modification journey because of my allergies, because I don't quite know; although I can say that it's a lot. Experiment with different types of jewelry, and cling onto the ones that work with dear life, because I know that I do. 😂


When the allergy flares up, I recommend downsizing automatically and switching to jewelry that you know will not negatively affect your body mods. From there I'd use unscented dial antibacterial soap to wash your body mods twice a day. Using neosporin is a very good idea as well, but only a small amount so that your jewelry doesn't collect too much moisture, which could agitate everything further and cause infection. It's also a good idea to leave the jewelry out and let it breathe for a while. DO NOT USE OIL WHEN EXPERIENCING AN ALLERGY. Always keep your body mods clean, with limited moisture, but also moisturized enough so that the area doesn't crack and bleed. Stay clear of any other jewelry that could be made of the material that caused the infection. Ask those you buy from what everything in the material is consisted of in order to limit the possibility of another allergy. ⚠️ BENODRYL IS YOUR BEST FRIEND.


Keep trying to figure out what works best for you, and stick to it so that you don't go through another allergy attack! So stay safe, and clean your body mods!



bottom of page